For Your Attention: Indigo Rising UK #2

by distractingdelusions

Indigo Rising UK, Issue 2 is now available to read – HERE!

I have two stories, Desert Walk (p.12) and Rootjuice (p.55), in this issue.

The first piece, Desert Walk, is a short (750 words) pulp piece that requires absolutely no effort to read. It was designed as such and I think it delivers. It was my first attempt to write in a ‘disposable’ style and, though it was fun to do, I don’t think I’ll be writing many, if any, more pieces quite like it. If I’d written it specifically to put up on the site here it would also have ended differently…

But I don’t post spoilers, so I won’t tell you how, or why, just yet.

Rootjuice, is a longer piece whose origin stemmed from my re-reading of abbreviated translations of African myths and folk-tales. I tried to use language sparsely in the same way early English translations of such folk-tales do. It’s a nice idea in theory, but after the first draft it sounded like an extended plot synopsis rather than an actual story.

So I re-wrote it.

I leave it up to you to decide how successful I was in my attempts to emulate this unique and, oft-times, blunt style of story-telling.

As well as my contributions, the new issue is packed with a wonderful array of stories and poetry by a fine selection of writers, both new, and established. I’m still burning through it at the minute but there’s something here for everyone and I definitely recommend you take a look as you’re bound to find something that catches your eye.

Go forth and read!

(And then tell your friends to do the same!)

