Work Notes

by distractingdelusions

Good Afternoon,

I am writing from work. This should be interesting. It’s currently too warm to think in here and I have forty minutes until I can go and stand on a platform, waiting for a train that, it seems, is permanently delayed by half-an hour.

Anyway, here are a few things on my mind this afternoon:

1 – The Walking Dead: Season 3, Episode 4. Wow, this was brutal on multiple levels. Yet again, the TV show has proved itself to be several steps above its source material (I’m not a fan of the comics, they lack substance). Quite worried about Carl though. That kid’s getting rather scary.

2 – The costume designers on CW’s Arrow. These guys get it. I’ve just seen Deathstroke’s outfit (as featured in tonight’s episode). It’s practical (not overly garish) and functional, but still manages to convey the character’s nature. The same is true of Oliver’s outfit and, from the previews that have been leaked, Huntress’ costume too. They’ve all been slightly reined in, but the changes are sensible. They work, as genuine comic book superhero/supervillain costumes within the setting of Starling city without ever feeling like they have been neutered in the name of realism. Kudos to the designers.

3 – Since I was one of the many, many fans who backed the Kickstarter, I’ve had Amanda Palmer’s new album, Theatre is Evil, for quite a while now. It is beautiful on so many levels it defies words. Between Theatre is Evil and Fiona Apple’s gorgeous new album, The Idler Wheel Is Wiser Than the Driver of the Screw and Whipping Cords Will Serve You More Than Ropes Will Ever Do, I could quite easily declare this the best year for music since… well, since the last time these two amazing women released albums in the same year.

Still, I should do something work like now. What’s on your mind?

